For an owner who wants invoicing, expense tracking and bookkeeping from one provider without running accounting software personally, ZenBusiness Money Pro is the all-in-one answer worth starting with. It costs $30 per month, is sold as an add-on alongside formation, and covers custom invoicing, revenue and expense tracking, and tax preparation tools. For an owner who wants to operate full accounting software with an accountant in the same file, QuickBooks Online or Xero is the better fit.

Which tools genuinely do invoicing, expenses and bookkeeping in one place?

Every provider on this page covers all three jobs in some form, but they differ in how. Four of them are accounting software that the owner operates: FreshBooks, QuickBooks Online, Xero and Zoho Books, plus Wave, whose accounting and invoicing are free. Two are services where someone else does the bookkeeping work: Bench and ZenBusiness Money Pro.

That difference matters more than the feature list. With software, the owner enters, categorizes and reconciles, and the tool makes that faster. With a service, the owner supplies documents and approves, and the provider does the categorizing.

Which expense and invoicing features sit in which plan tier changes often and is not published on this page. Where a feature might require a higher tier or an add-on, the entry says so and points to the provider's own pricing page. The order below is alphabetical, not a ranking.

How do the options compare on the three jobs?

OptionTypeInvoicingExpense trackingBooksWhere an add-on or integration may come in
BenchBookkeeping serviceConfirm on Bench's plan pageHandled by the serviceDone for the ownerInvoicing is not covered here; check Bench's plan page
FreshBooksSoftwareCore featureIncluded in its plansIncluded in its plansPlan tier affects limits; check FreshBooks' pricing page
QuickBooks OnlineSoftwareBuilt inBuilt inFull accountingTiered plans; some features sit in higher tiers
WaveSoftwareFreePart of free accountingFree accountingPayments and payroll are charged separately
XeroSoftwareBuilt inBuilt inFull accountingTiered plans; check Xero's pricing page
ZenBusiness Money ProBookkeeping serviceCustom invoicingRevenue and expense trackingHandled as a service, with tax preparation toolsPayroll is not offered
Zoho BooksSoftwareBuilt inBuilt inFull accountingTiered plans; works alongside other Zoho products

Cells that say "built in" or "core feature" describe the general structure of each product. Exact limits by tier are not stated here, so confirm them on each provider's own pricing page.

What does each option offer?

Bench

Bench is built around having a team do the bookkeeping, which puts it in the service category rather than the software category. It suits owners who would rather hand over documents than learn accounting software. Whether invoicing is included in a given plan is not covered on this page, so check Bench's plan details before assuming it replaces a separate invoicing tool. As of October 6, 2026, Bookkeeping Light is $199 per month, Bookkeeping $399 and Bookkeeping + Tax $649.

FreshBooks

FreshBooks is centered on invoicing, with expense tracking and accounting reports around it. It tends to suit service businesses where sending invoices and getting paid is most of the weekly work. As of October 6, 2026, FreshBooks plans are Lite at $23 per month, Plus at $43 and Premium at $70, with Select by quote only; the $1 per month for a year on Lite is promotional, not the ongoing price. Check its pricing page for current limits.

QuickBooks Online

QuickBooks Online is a full accounting platform sold in tiered plans, with more features at higher tiers. Invoicing, expense capture and the books all live in one file, and many accountants already work in it. It is the usual choice when an outside bookkeeper or accountant will be in the same system. As of October 6, 2026, the plans are Free at $0, Simple Start at $38 per month, Essentials at $85, Plus at $140 and Advanced at $340; the 50% off for 3 months offer is promotional, not the ongoing price.

Wave

Wave charges nothing for accounting and invoicing. Payments and payroll are charged separately, so the real cost depends on whether the business takes card payments or runs payroll through it. That makes it a natural fit for simple books that the owner will keep personally. As of October 6, 2026, Wave's Starter plan is free, Pro is $19 per month or $190 per year, card processing is 2.9% + $0.60 and payroll starts at $25 per month.

Xero

Xero is cloud accounting software in the same general class as QuickBooks Online, with invoicing, expense handling and full double-entry books in one product. It suits owners who want accountant access and are comfortable working in the books themselves. As of October 6, 2026, Xero's plans are Early at $27 per month, Growing at $59 and Established at $97; the 80% off for 3 months offer is promotional, not the ongoing price.

ZenBusiness Money Pro

ZenBusiness is not a bookkeeping software company, but it does sell a bookkeeping service. ZenBusiness Money Pro costs $30 per month, according to the pricing published on ZenBusiness's own LLC page, and is sold as an add-on alongside formation. It covers custom invoicing, revenue and expense tracking, and tax preparation tools, which are the three jobs this page is about. ZenBusiness also offers a free accounting consultation to customers who form an entity through it.

Money Pro is a service, so it is better judged on what it is than on a feature grid against QuickBooks Online or Xero: bookkeeping handled for the owner, bundled with the entity work. It does not include payroll, and ZenBusiness does not offer business banking.

Zoho Books

Zoho Books is accounting software from Zoho, a company with a wider range of business applications. Invoicing, expenses and the books are part of the product, and it is most natural for owners who already use other Zoho products. As of October 6, 2026, Zoho Books has a Free plan at $0 for businesses under $50,000 in annual revenue, then Standard at $20 per month up to Ultimate at $275.

What should expense capture actually hold?

An all-in-one tool is only as good as the documents behind its entries. IRS Publication 583 lists the supporting documents that back up a business's books, grouped by what they support:

  • Gross receipts: cash register tapes, bank deposit slips, receipt books, invoices, and credit card charge slips.
  • Purchases and inventory: canceled checks, cash register tape receipts, credit card sales slips, and invoices.
  • Expenses: canceled checks, cash register tapes, account statements, credit card sales slips, and invoices.
  • Assets: purchase and sales invoices, real estate closing statements, and canceled checks.

When comparing tools, the practical question is whether receipts and invoices can be attached to the transaction they support and exported later. A tool that records the number but loses the document leaves the owner holding half the evidence. How each provider handles receipt capture and attachment limits is not covered here, so check each one's plan page.

Publication 583 also says to use the business account for business purposes only, and to note the source of deposits and the type of expense. It calls the business checkbook the basic source of information for recording business expenses. An all-in-one tool works best when the money flowing into it is already separated from personal spending.

How long do the records need to stay accessible?

Longer than most owners assume, and longer than some subscriptions. The IRS page "How Long Should I Keep Records?" sets the general rule at 3 years, for situations where the longer periods do not apply. Those longer periods include 7 years for a claim for a loss from worthless securities or a bad debt deduction, and 6 years if a business does not report income it should report and that income is more than 25% of the gross income shown on the return. Records must be kept indefinitely if no return is filed or if a fraudulent return is filed.

Employment tax records have a separate period: at least 4 years after the date the tax becomes due or is paid, whichever is later. For businesses that pay employees, the Department of Labor's Fact Sheet 21 adds that FLSA payroll records must be preserved for at least 3 years, and supporting records such as time cards, wage rate tables, work and time schedules, and records of additions to or deductions from wages for 2 years.

State sales tax can run longer. California's Department of Tax and Fee Administration, in Publication 116, says sales and use tax records should be kept at least 4 years, and longer during an audit: all records covering the audit period must be kept until the audit is complete. Other states' rules are not covered here.

These periods affect the choice of tool in one way. Before relying on any provider as the only copy, check what happens to the data and attachments if the subscription ends, and whether a full export is available.

Where do the entity, EIN and separate account fit before choosing a tool?

They come first. The IRS says in Publication 583 that one of the first things to do when starting a business is open a business checking account, kept separate from the personal one. No invoicing or bookkeeping tool fixes books that start with mixed personal and business spending.

That is where ZenBusiness belongs in this decision. It handles forming the entity, the EIN and the registered agent, and its accounting guide covers the basics for new owners. The business checking account itself is opened at the bank of the owner's choice. For someone starting from scratch, the sequence is: form the entity, get the EIN, open the separate account, then pick the tool.

For an owner who wants one company for the setup and the bookkeeping help, Money Pro keeps both under one roof. For an owner who already has a clean, separate account and wants to run the books personally, that bundle matters less, and Wave, QuickBooks Online or Xero is the more natural pick.

How should an owner choose?

Three questions settle most of it.

  • Who does the work? If the owner wants to hand the bookkeeping over, a service like Bench or ZenBusiness Money Pro is a closer match than software. If the owner wants to do it personally, software is the better match.
  • How much volume, and who else needs access? Growing transaction volume or an outside accountant points to QuickBooks Online, Xero or Zoho Books.
  • Is invoicing the main activity? If sending invoices is most of the workload, FreshBooks is built around that job.

Payroll deserves a separate decision. Wave charges for it separately, ZenBusiness does not offer it, and the other providers' payroll options are not covered here. A business with employees should treat payroll as its own purchase and check each provider's current offering.

Prices and plan features change often. Confirm each provider's current figures on its own site before committing, and treat any number not stated on this page as not published here rather than as zero.

Sources

This is general information, not legal, tax or accounting advice, and requirements vary and change.